A Call to Arms

Of Gods and Men

I saw the film ‘Of Gods and Men’ recently- about a community of monks face a threat to their lives and have to ask the question stay in the monastry and face the possibility of death or run. Perhaps we will never have to face a dilemna like this- where our life is endangered by practicing Buddhism. Surely, though, with ‘old age and death rolling in on us’ this is the situation we are really in, and the mundaneness of every day life usually masks this.

I think the spiritual life is a matter of life and death.  But rather every moment of the day we choose between doing what is skillfiul, leads to happiness, is compassionate and what is unskillful, leads to suffering, is self-concerned. In an interconnected world, with so much suffering, madness, insanity, waste- you could argue that you can link up our mundane daily actions to people literally or figuratively, living or dying. What would it look like if we took this on in our lives more fully, if all decided to ‘go for it’, not hold anything back, and live and spread the Dharma with every ounce of energy and time? What would the practical implications of the LBC be if we all did this? Would this be a sustainable, a desirable thing to do?

Are the people of the LBC/ Triratna movement doing everything it can to spread the Dharma and to lead full Dharma lives to the best of their ability? I think that the movement already does a lot, but we could do more, so much more, in every way. This blog is a way of exploring and proclaiming this, a call to arms, so to speak.

I embarked on this project of outwardly talking about the New Society and trying to spark into life new TBRLs a few months ago now, and I have thoroughly enjoyed having an excuse (not that an excuse is needed) of meeting up with people involved in the Triratna adventure and discussing with them an exciting project which involves our highest aspirations.

Last week I had the pleasure of meeting 3 Order members who who have been in the movement for a considerable amount of time and lead full time Dharma lives. I consider myself very fortunate to be able to do this and to be welcomed so warmly into their homes and to be able to discuss matters that to me are of great importance and interest. Think of Bhante when he was a young man- meetings with people with whom he could feel a spiritual kinship were few and far between, particularly in England, so now he’s communicated the Dharma effectively and created a vital spiritual community, so now I can go to the LBC and be tripping over people with whom I have spiritual kinship! – and I don’t take that for granted.

Kamalashila

On Wednesday I met up with Kamalshila. I discussed my thoghts and ideas about the subject and he was very encouraging and affirming. He showed me a video on Bernie Glassman– a ‘Jewish’ Zen Buddhist in New York who has set up a hostel for the homeless where they also make and sell Cheesecake- the profits of which go to good causes, he also runs retreats at Aushwiitz. This short video is well worth looking at here. Kamalashila was quite interested in my ideas about doing more outreach in London (see previous post: ‘Pop Up Buddhist Centres?’) and thought it quite possible to be able to support more mediation teachers in London.

On Thursday I met with Jnanavaca, who has been a Kalyana Mitra of mine for some years now. From discussing my ideas for more outreach and an intensified Mentoring program with him I gathered that this is a conclusion the LBCs Dharma Activities committee has already come to and is intending to implement a program at the LBC, which is exciting. I hope to be able to influence and be involved in this- I have started researching possible venues and have found 19 to contact in London so far. (if anyone would like to help scout these out let me know).

Bodhiketu, who I met on the Friday was helpful in suggesting some places in London that may be good areas to try setting something up. He does Karuna door knocking appeals so is a good person to ask about the most conducive places in London to set up a ‘Pop Up Centre’ or outreach. I saw a video of a talk he gave about meditation ‘Ecstacy and Bliss’ (here) which discusses the Dhyanas. I really like this talk because I’d noticed the dhyanas don’t get talked about enough.

Last summer I studied Kamalashilas chapter on Higher Consciousness and found that this dwelling on this topic was inspiring and instructional, enabling me to get into access concentration and maybe even the 1st Dhynana more easily and giving my meditation practice more framework and direction. I discussed with these three structuring am introductory course emphasizing the Dhyanas (warning against over willfullness of course) – a suggestion they all thought was good. I think teaching the dhyanas, even in introductory classes is important as it immediately places the purpose of meditation beyond mere relaxation and stress relief. Also, it is more likely people will experience higher states of consciousness if they are talked about, or at least recognise them when they happen and be able to put the into a framework. I know someone who goes along to classes and retreats fairly regularly but had never heard of Access Concentration, Dhyanna etc. She described to me an experience which sounded like Dhyana but she didn’t want to tell anyone because she thought it might be wrong! If people do experience Dhyana then you’re possibly getting into life changing territory…

Meeting the above Order members, knowing there are many more like them, convinces me that we have something special here, and that there is great possibilities and opportunities awaiting us if we have the courage and vision to open the door… I believe we should go for it- whatever that means- wisely, patiently, together, thoughtfully- but go for it. What have we got to loose?

‘Whatever you can do or dream, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.’
Goethe

Leave a comment